NAE Open

13 July 2019 - 8 September 2019

Launch event: 12 July 2018, 6PM - 9PM

Friday 12 July 2019, 6pm – 9pm

Friday 23 August 2019, 6pm – 9pm

Enjoy a huge variety of art at NAE this summer, with works in painting, drawing, video, live art, sculpture, installation and mixed media by over 50 artists.

The NAE Open was created through an open application process which received nearly 700 submissions. A panel of judges viewed each to select what they felt to be the most innovative and accomplished works, creating a snapshot of contemporary fine art practice today.

Given NAE's key priorities in supporting both culturally diverse and local talent, the exhibition was open to all artists living in Nottinghamshire and also to  artists of culturally diverse heritage and those exploring diversity within their
practice living anywhere in the UK.

A key aim of the NAE Open is to create a platform which supports the development of artists and raises their profile. Beyond the public exhibition itself, a number of prizes will be awarded in a special ceremony on Friday 23 August. These include the £1,500 Public Choice Prize, which every visitor to the exhibition can contribute to. Be sure to cast your vote when you visit the galleries – voting closes Thursday 22 August 2019. The NAE Open also creates the opportunity to buy original art with a number of works available for sale.


Ayo Akingbade

Haseebah Ali

Ankita Anand

Farhad Berahman

Adonia Bouchehri

Pamela Breda

Faiza Butt

Gerard Carson

Emily Catherine

Shaista Chishty

Richard Chung

Faye Claridge

Chiara Dellerba

Mariano Doronzo

Billy Dosanjh

Arit Etukudo

Vivian Chinasa Ezugha

Adam Farah / free.yard

Craig Fisher

Katharina Fitz

Tracy Gnoan

Aya Haidar

Umama Hamido

Christopher Hanson

Effy Harle

Sayed Hasan

Faisal Hussain

Seungjo Jeong

Sofia Karim

Jagjit Kaur

Permindar Kaur

Nisa Khan

Wanja Kimani

Fanni Kopacsi

Dinu Li

Lin Li

Renie Masters

Bill Ming

Nick Mobbs

Natasha Monfared

Dipesh Pandya

Irvin Pascal

Hetain Patel

Becca Pyne

Joshua Roland

Benjamin Rostance

Sarah Sayeed

Vanessa Scully

Grzegorz Stefanski

Emily Stollery

Soraya Syed

Ghafar Tajmohammad

Bobby Tiwana

Rebekah Ubuntu

Leah Wareham

Honey Williams


Main Prize £3,000 - awarded by the NAE Open 2019 selection and judging panel
Public Choice Prize £1,500 - awarded by visitors to the exhibition via public vote
NAE Future Exhibition Prize - awarded by NAE, this is a mentoring, developmental and platforming opportunity that awards the winner commissioning funds and support to develop new work, presented as either a live performance within NAE's Public Programme, or as an exhibition in the Central or Mezzanine Gallery.
One Thoresby Street Production Award - awarded by One Thoresby Street, this prize gives the winner three weeks use of the Attic Project Space for an exhibition in 2020, along with a public event, use of project space to make work if needed, technical support, mentoring, and a £300 production budget.
Ian Robinson Prize £150 - awarded by Ian Robinson
John E Wright Prize £100 towards print services - awarded by Adrian Nicholls


• Matthew Chesney - Artist Curator and Founding Director of BACKLIT Gallery & Studio
• Christine Eyene - Artistic Director, 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca 2020
• Louise Fedotov-Clements - Artistic Director of QUAD & Director of FORMAT International Photography Festival
• Jagdish Patel - Nottingham based Writer, Photographer & Activist
• Sarah Perks - International Curator, Writer & Producer
• Beverley Sterling - Visual Artist
• Salma Tuqan – Curator of Contemporary Art & Design, and Deputy Director of Delfina



New Art Exchange
39-41 Gregory Boulevard
NG7 6BE, Uk


0115 924 8630


Opening Times

Mon -  Fri: 09:00 – 18:00

Sat: 10:00 – 17:00

Sun: 10:00 – 16:00

Closed Bank Holidays

Contact Us

Privacy Policy



We would like to acknowledge the financial support new art exchange has received from our funders and partners.

Supported by

Logos for; Arts Council England, Nottingham City Council

Capital funders

Logos for; Nottingham City Council, East Midlands Development Agency, Neighbourhood Development Company, European Regional Development Fund, Greater Nottingham Partnership, Arts Council England