New Art Exchange Appoints Six New Board Members

18 December 2019

New Art Exchange Appoints Six New Board Members

New Art Exchange, Nottingham is pleased to announce the appointment of 6 important new board members; Ashitey Akomfrah, Jiten Anand, Meeta Dave, Mahtab Hussain, Rhiannon Jones and Sophia Ramcharan. (pictured top L-R and bottom L-R)

The new appointments include practicing artists and specialists from the education, community and diversity sectors. They were recruited through an open and fair process.

Leslie MacDonald, Chair of the Board said "I welcome each of our new board members and the knowledge and experience they will bring to New Art Exchange. I look forward to working with them to further our aim of becoming the leading organisation for diversity and the arts in the UK.

Skinder Hundal, CEO of New Art Exchange said: "The new Board members bring a wide range of skills to support NAE deliver its mission of stimulating new perspectives about the value of diversity in art and society. The new members bring expertise in schools and learning, community engagement, social enterprise, higher educations, artist led initiatives and international arts production. We are excited to bring in a cross section of young, mature and multi skilled professionals from across the country keen to make a difference and share their expertise with us at New Art Exchange."

Peter Knott, Area Director, Arts Council England, said: "New Art Exchange is the largest gallery in the UK dedicated to promoting culturally diverse visual artists and we're delighted to welcome these talented new members to the board. Together, they offer excellent knowledge of arts, education, community and diversity and having these insights will help create even more opportunities for audiences.

"New Art Exchange plays an important part in Nottingham's cultural scene and does great work around the value of diversity in art and society. We look forward to seeing people continue to enjoy this amazing space for diverse visual art."

Meeta Dave, Headteacher from Radford Academy said "As a board member of New Art Exchange, I am looking forward to supporting and adding value to the excellent work already being done. I would like to further explore how it can become more of an integral part of the community, a place where people feel it is their space, a place to learn, a place where they have a voice and where social and cultural barriers are broken down. The ethos and values of NAE resonate very closely to my own."

The members join Chair - Leslie McDonald, Vice Chair - Professor Christopher O'Brien, OBE, Vice Chair - Jennifer Spencer, Vice Chair - Mohan Khera and Vice Chair - Sardul Gill.


New Art Exchange
39-41 Gregory Boulevard
NG7 6BE, Uk


0115 924 8630


Opening Times

Mon: Closed

Tues -  Sat: 10:00 – 16:00

Sun: Closed

Closed Bank Holidays

Contact Us

Privacy Policy



We would like to acknowledge the financial support new art exchange has received from our funders and partners.

Supported by

Logos for; Arts Council England, Nottingham City Council

Capital funders

Logos for; Nottingham City Council, East Midlands Development Agency, Neighbourhood Development Company, European Regional Development Fund, Greater Nottingham Partnership, Arts Council England